St. Simons Island, Georgia...Places to see and do

St. Simons Island Lighthouse

Brunswick & The Golden Isles of Georgia consists of St. Simons Island, Sea Island, Little St. Simons Island and Jekyll Island. Here you will discover not only miles of beaches and intriguing history of the Peach State, but also find hundreds of holes of wonderful golf, shrimp boats, deep sea fishing, kayaking and restaurants to suit every taste and appetite. Accommodations can be found to fit every style and every budget.

The following is a list of attractions you’ll want to visit when touring St. Simons Island.

Avenue of Oaks:
On the grounds of the Sea Island Golf Club
Retreat Avenue at King's Way
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Now the grand entrance to the Sea Island Golf Club (available to guests of The Cloister, guests of The Lodge at Sea Island Golf Club, and members of the Sea Island Club), the Avenue of Oaks was the entrance to Retreat Plantation, an antebellum plantation known for its superior quality sea island cotton and extensive flower gardens. Visitors may view the oak canopies and golf course vistas by driving along the Avenue of Oaks and circling back.

Fishing Pier
End of Mallery Street in the Village area
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Since the days of ferryboat transportation between St. Simons Island and the mainland, the pier has been a focal point of activity. This area, known as The Village, offers numerous shops, restaurants and points of interest, as well as year-round festivals and events.

St. Simons Island Casino
Beachview Drive
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
This building houses the St. Simons Island Visitors Center, open daily 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. Stop here for complete island information. 180-seat auditorium/theater, an outdoor bandstand and restrooms also are in this building.

St. Simons Lighthouse and Museum is a must see on the island.

St. Simons Island Lighthouse Museum
Beachview Drive
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone: (912) 638-4666
Fax: (912) 638-6609
Website: www.saintsimonslighthouse.org
The architectural simplicity of the restored 1872 lighthouse keeper's cottage complements the towering 104-foot lighthouse. The oldest brick structures in Glynn County, the lighthouse and dwelling house the museum and gift shop of The Coastal Georgia Historical Society. Museum and Lighthouse open Monday-Saturday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm; Sunday, 1:30 to 5:00 pm. Admission. The historic site includes an 1872 brick lighthouse and keeper's dwelling, an 1890 oil house and a Victorian gazebo. A museum in the keeper's dwelling features exhibits on the history of the lighthouse and the way of life of a lighthouse keeper and his family. Climb the 129 steps to the top of the lighthouse for a spectacular view of the ocean, St. Simons Island, Jekyll Island and Brunswick. Opening in 2008-The, 10,000 square-foot A. W. Jones Heritage Center on the Lighthouse Museum campus. In this new space, you'll enjoy an interactive exhibit about the 2004 Sea Island Group of Eight (G8) Summit. Through the new Center you'll enter the new Keeper's Cottage where you can access the Lighthouse, where exhibits using Historical Society collection items tell the stories of the area's people and their accomplishments, and traveling exhibitions. An expanded museum shop and coastal Georgia history archives will be open to the public. A 150-seat meeting room will be available for public functions. The Heritage Center will be built following successful completion of the Coastal Georgia Historical Society's "Lighting Our Way" capital campaign.

St. Simons Beach (Masengale Park)
Ocean Boulevard between East Beach Causeway and Arnold Drive
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Several miles of fine public beach off Ocean Boulevard to the north and south of the old U.S. Coast Guard Station. Beachfront Masengale Park has picnic and bathroom facilities. Park hours 6:00 am to 10:30 pm daily.

Bloody Marsh Battle Site (National Park Service)
Demere Road between East Beach Causeway and Frederica Road
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Here, on July 7, 1742, an outnumber force of British troops ambushed and defeated Spanish troops, halting an attack aimed at Fort Frederica. The battle proved to be the turning point in the Spanish invasion of Georgia. Open 8:00 am to 4:00 pm daily.

Fort Frederica National Monument
Frederica Road
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone: (912) 638-3639
Website: www.nps.gov/fofr
Built by General Oglethorpe in 1736, three years after the founding of Savannah, Fort Frederica is a National Monument. Gate open at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, museum 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. Closed Christmas Day. Historic film shown every half-hour year 'round. Informative talks. Park Ranger-led tours and soldier/colonial life programs in summer. Admission: $5/vehicle; $3 per person on foot, bike, or bus.

Historic Christ Church

Christ Church, Frederica
Frederica Road
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
In 1736, John and Charles Wesley held services under the oak trees at the location of the present church, erected in 1883 by Anson Phelps Dodge Jr. as a memorial to his first wife. Open daily 2:00 to 5:00 pm, except Christmas Day.

Lawrence Road
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
This road, leading to the northern tip of St. Simons Island, is dotted with historical markers noting the plantations that once thrived in the area. At its terminus is Hampton River Club Marina, departure point for Little St. Simons Island. (Guided day tours of this pristine private island are available year 'round by reservation only; lodging also is available year 'round. Call 912-638-7472.)

Epworth by the Sea
Off Sea Island Road at Arthur Moore Drive
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone: (912) 638-8688
Website: www.epworthbythesea.org
Now a United Methodist Church conference center with lodging, Epworth is on the site of Hamilton Plantation. A museum is open to the public.

Gascoigne Bluff
Off Sea Island Road at Hamilton Road
St. Simons Island, GA 31522
Live oak timbers milled here in 1794 were used building "Old Ironsides," the U.S.S. Constitution. In 1874, timbers were cut here for the Brooklyn Bridge.